Madagascar have qualified for the African Cup of Nations (AFCON)  finals for the first time by beating Equatorial Guinea 1-0 in Vontovorona after Madagascar were banned from using the Mahamasina Stadium in Antananarivo for “three matches or three months”. They became the first team to qualify for a place in the finals that have now been expanded from 16 teams to 24.

They were later joined by Egypt , Senegal and Tunisia in qualifying for the finals in Cameroon next June/July. Madagascar’s win moved them to 10 points in Group A with two matches left to play.

Egypt and Tunisia helped each other to qualify for next year’s expanded finals as they both won in Group J. The Pharaohs’ qualification was confirmed later on Tuesday as Tunisia maintained their 100% winning record with a 2-1 victory over Niger in Niamey.

Nigeria moved to the top of Group E with a narrow 3-2 win over hosts Libya. The match was played in the Tunisian city of Sfax because of the ongoing security concerns in Libya.
The Super Eagles looked set for a comfortable win as Odion Ighalo and Ahmed Musa put Nigeria 2-0 up inside 20 minutes. Libya fought back to level through Mohamed Zubya and Italy-based Ahmad Benali who scored after 74 minutes.
Igahlo’s second of the night and fifth against Libya in the past four days gave Nigeria all three points and kept them on course to qualify for the finals. South Africa laboured to a goalless draw in Seychelles just three days after they had thrashed the same side 6-0 in Johannesburg.
Seychelles can no longer qualify for the finals.

Group A after four matches:
Senegal 10 points (qualified)
Madagascar 10 points (qualified)
Equatorial Guinea 3 points (eliminated)
Sudan 0 points (eliminated)

Group B after four matches:
Cameroon 8 points (qualify as hosts)
Morocco 7 points
Malawi 4 points
Comoros 2 points

Group C after four matches:
Mali 8 points
Gabon 7 points
Burundi 6 points
South Sudan 0 points (eliminated)

Group D after four matches:
Algeria 7 points
Benin 7 points
Togo 5 points
The Gambia 2 points

Group E after four matches:
Nigeria 9 points
South Africa 8 points
Libya 4 points
Seychelles 1 point (eliminated)

Group G after four matches:
Zimbabwe 8 points
DR Congo 5 points
Congo Brazzaville 4 points
Liberia 4 points

Group H after four matches:
Guinea 10 points
Ivory Coast 7 points
Central African Republic 4 points
Rwanda 1 point

Group I after four matches:
Mauritania 9 points
Burkina Faso 7 points
Angola 6 points
Botswana 1 point (eliminated)

Group J after four matches:
Tunisia 12 points (qualified)
Egypt 9 points (qualified)
eSwatini 1 point (eliminated)
Niger 1 point (eliminated)

Group K after four matches:
Guinea-Bissau 7 points
Namibia 7 points
Mozambique 4 points
Zambia 4 points

Group L after four matches:
Uganda 10 points
Tanzania 5 points
Cape Verde 4 points
Lesotho 2 points

There are two more qualifying rounds left to play – one in November and the final matches will be in March next year.