The UIMSA Electoral Committee has announced the results of the election conducted in various Executive, Senate and Congress offices with Jaachimma Nwagbara emerging as the President after polling 445 votes edging Eniola Akinnuoye who polled 337 votes.

The result of the election, which took place online was announced by the chairman of the UIMSA Electoral Committee after the voting period ended.

Six positions out of the eight positions contested were contested unopposed. Olorunyomi Fola-Oyetayo, a 500L student emerged as the Vice-President, with 688 votes, Maryam Odeleke, a 500L student emerged as the General Secretary with 754 votes, Olamide Jaiyeoba, a 400L student emerged as the Assistant General Secretary with 715 votes, Esther Olaoye, a 400L student emerged as the Treasurer with 700 votes, Opeyemi Ilori, a 400L Student emerged as the Public Relations Officer with 736 votes and B’Oluwatife Bolatito, a 400L student emerged as the Special Duties Officer (Clinicals) with 694 votes.

Four candidates contested for the position of the Special Duties Officer (Preclinicals), and Folusho Olu-Adegbola emerged as the winner with a cumulative of 404 votes out edging Ayomide Makanjuola, Mubarak Alimi, and Collins Ijezie; all 200L students with 51, 150 and 175 votes respectively.

With no candidates for the positions of the Financial Secretary and the Sports Secretary, we await the decision of the Senate about the election into these offices.

Covenant Odedele